Getting Started w/ Angular 8

Rashad Walcott
Rashad’s Tech Blogs
3 min readJan 22, 2020

Angular has been one of the other frameworks that I wanted to learn. I can build applications using React but I have come across many job requirements wanting knowledge of Angular as well. It is a bit difficult out there finding tutorials that are up to date with the most recent version of Angular. So I decided to do a quick walkthrough of how you would even get started with Angular 8.

To get started you would need to check if you have node.js installed. To check if you have node and the version you have you can type into your terminal

node -v

If node is unrecognized you can head on over to Node.js and download the version that is compatible with your operating system. You may want to also check to see if you Node Package Manager on your system as well. Just like before to check the version of that you would type into your terminal

npm -v

If you do not have npm installed you can type in this command and download the latest version

npm install npm@latest -g

Once that is squared away, you then want to install angular onto your system. I installed it globally onto my machine so that I will only have to do it once. You can do that by typing

npm i -g @angular/cli

Now that you have all that you can now create a new angular app. Which you will do by typing

ng new my-app

You can name your app whatever you like of course just take away the “my-app” and insert the name that you would like for your application.

After entering the code above, you will then be asked if you would like to add Angular routing yes or no. I selected “Yes” because that allows me to create routes between different components in my application. You will then be asked what stylesheet format you would like to use. I selected SCSS so that I can style using SASS in my application.

Now you would want to cd into your new application and open your code editor. In this instance I am using VS Code.

cd my-app
code .

Now you have this new application and I am sure you want to run it and get started. I used this command to run my application because it opens it using my default browser as well as routing it to http://localhost:4200/

ng serve -o

While working on this application it is always good to run this because it hot reloads and you can see your changes without having to refresh your browser. If you would like to build out more with this angular application see below for more information.

Check out this tutorial by DesignCourse to build out more using Angular 8.

--

--