I Did Not Go Gracefully

A foggy forest scene with a hand made wooden bench
photo by Juliette Jarvis

I did not go gracefully into this night
the Sun set in increments
gentle kindling breaths on hopeful embers
my measured, reasonable, efforts held no affect

the sinking darkness deepened, as it does
and I thrashed bare hearted for a lantern
a beacon, a North Star revealed from heavy cloud
calling, yelling, demanding for sheltering from what lay wait

darker still, I raged
I raged for dignity. I raged to be found and met and held
I begged swords be taken up
to halt injustice, unrightful hauntings
to end what should be long dead and done
defending right against the wrong

as that last light snuffed out, arrows piercing one, two, three
shot me through
this trampled mush of me can not be broken
it’s too soft. pulverized

no strength of will left to seek salvation with
only retreat
a curling in
knowing not every dawn is welcomed

I did not go gracefully

Tucked up in her cottage on the west coast of Canada, Juliette Jarvis lives as a Sacred Living Mentor, Best Selling Author, and Devotional Artist. She draws on 15+ years of hosting community ceremonies and immersion programs to write spiritually supportive works, and create hand woven ritual wear & ceremonial ceramics.

Visit www.selkiesanctuary.com to find more of her works and buy her a coffee at https://ko-fi.com/juliettejarvis

--

--

Juliette Jarvis ~ Sacred Living Mentor & Author
Raven Tongue

Sacred Living Mentor, Best Selling Author, and Devotional Artist drawing on 15+ years of hosting community ceremonies and immersion programs selkiesanctuary.com