The power of family

George Dienhart
Ravings of a mad dad
2 min readSep 27, 2018

My 11 year old brought home her 17th grade progress report yesterday, she received straight A’s. One of the great things about 11 year olds is the honesty and directness of nearly every communication. They are basically pure unfiltered humanity. She was kind enough to point out that I “brought home” 2 A’s and 2 B’s. In fact she was rightfully proud of her grades, as was I.

We have a fairly unique situation. I work full time, and attend nursing school full time. My middle daughter works part time, and attended nursing school. My son? Well he works part time and attends nursing school. Then there’s my oldest daughter, who works part time and attends… college for teaching. Bet I got you on that one.

We are all working hard, and getting good grades so far. I am particularly proud of all my children, though. Not just for their choice of careers but for the way they are working together as a family. So far, nothing is falling through the cracks. If anything my youngest is getting more attention, because we knew we would have to make a conscious effort to take care of her.

Herein belies the power of family. We are all working together to reach our goals. The truth is, most people say they have great kids. Mine are proving it everyday.

The fact that we are all drawn to service oriented careers probably has much to do with our initial success. As I continue this blog, you will see “you can do it” emerge as a theme, and you can. But all of us who are learning to be nurses must realize that it’s okay to seek out help. In fact, it’s almost required.

--

--