Photo cred: Andrey Elizarov

China, accelerated

Teresa Truda
Raw Startupism
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2016

--

We started at Chinaccelerator this week. So, I’ve decided to post five learnings from the week, each week of the program.

Here goes:

Shanghai has tree lined streets, is clean, crisp and cool

Had to put that in given its my first time here. It’s awesome.

The pollution isn’t really even a noticeable thing either. Most things are accessible. And it’s pretty at night.

I still haven’t found a soy latte.

Accelerators enable speed (duh!)

In one week, we’ve (moved country), started the re-brand process (more about that soon), interviewed potential new team members, learnt about the Chinese legal system, compiled the bones of an algorithm, evolved the product plan, met 12 other awesome companies, had orientation, learnt where to order food, where to get a glass of bubbles and how to plunge a toilet.

Keep emails short

3 sentences. I knew that. But do I practice it? I am forcing myself to now.

Advice is super valuable

Getting the right advice, from the right people is actually really valuable. I had startup advice fatigue for a while. Everyone had an opinion about our startup. I didn’t want to hear anymore ADVICE. CA, in one week, has opened this up for me. Good, intelligent advice is great.

Elevator bitch

Did I just say that? I meant pitch, elevator pitch. You think you know it. You don’t. And need to keep practicing it, improving it.

Until next week, may you eat many dumplings. And meet this monkey. He takes cash only.

Follow our progress on Twitter.

--

--

Teresa Truda
Raw Startupism

Super Geek. Speaker. Advisor. Love travel. Eat food. Make out with tech. Love to have my way with words, occasionally. More: teresatruda.com