Importance of “a little more”

Daehyun Lim (Ray)
Ray’s Life Story
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2022

I received the above picture from my Chinese teacher. This picture gave me a great perspective and also gave me tremendous inspiration.

We all do our best in our work and individual life. Trying to effort to reach the business goal in the work such as increasing revenue, expanding the marketplace places, increasing customers, and managing the team and company. Also, we try to enhance our abilities like language skills, studying new information related to the work, and expanding the human network.

But, all of our efforts always don’t bring us to succeed. Sometimes, we are frustrated due to the not good result, and also we are confused ‘Is it right or not this way I trying to?’. In case of my case, especially in learning languages, I’m studying English for 4 years and studying Chinese for 2 years. I’m sometimes frustrated or willing to stop studying English and Chines when I felt difficult to use English or Chinese. Actually, I didn’t feel my English skill or Chinese skill didn’t improve as I thought.

After I saw the picture that my Chinese teacher sent, I can remind the mindset for learning languages, and I realized that this can be applied to many things in our life.

So, I would like to share the picture I received from my Chinese teacher.

In the picture, “1” mean the amount of effort we put in during the 1 day. If we effort “1” every single day for 1 year (365 days), the result is “1”.

The amount of effort that we put in during a day is different depending on the situation and circumstance. One day, we put in 1.01 effort, and another day, we put in 0.99 effort. Probably, we think that it is not a big difference between 1.01 and 0.99. It is a just difference of 0.02. But, we see the above picture, the result between 1.01 and 0.99 is very big.

I would like to say this is “Importance of a little more”. And I think this is similar to the concept of the “last mile”. This concept is used in the delivery business, media content and telecommunication business. How focus to on the “last mile” is one of the essential points to lead to success in business.

When we work at a company or study new something, I think if we will put “a little more” effort, and then we can see very big different results than before. Try just “a little more” effort. Not many. If we get pressure from “too many” efforts, it is hard to maintain the effort for a long time. But, if we think that it just need “a little more” effort, it is easy to maintain the effort for a long time. When this daily’s “a little more’ efforts accumulate, we can get a great result more than we expected.

Let’s see the above picture again, and try to effort “a little more” in your life. Definitely, a tremendous result will come to us. Hopefully, all people who read this article will get great results in 2023.

--

--

Daehyun Lim (Ray)
Ray’s Life Story

I’m working in IT industry and I try to study English. I would like communicate with various people in here.