Learning Korean 1 day

Daehyun Lim (Ray)
Ray’s Life Story
Published in
2 min readJun 9, 2021

--

Hello. I’m Ray from Korea. I’m not professional Korean teacher, but I would like to write for common expressions in here for Korean beginners. Also, I have been studying English for 3 years, and I’m still feel very difficult when I use English. But, as studying English, I met various friends from various countries. It was really happy to me and expand to my perspectives. I really hope that I can meet good people and have a communication with them.

  1. 안녕하세요. (An Nyeong Ha Se yo)

‘안녕하세요’ is Hello in English. There are exist formal and casual expressions. Usually, when we talking with older people or people who are meet first, we use formal expression. And when we talking with younger people, we use casual expression. It is really seems likely hard to Korean beginners. ‘안녕하세요’ is formal expression and ‘안녕’ (An Nyeong) is casual expression.

2. 좋은 아침입니다. (Joh-eun achim-ibnida)

‘좋은 아침입니다’ is similar to ‘Good morning’. This expression has been used at the office in the morning. When we arrive office and meet colleagues, we usually say ‘좋은 아침입니다’ or ‘안녕하세요’.

3. 주말 잘 보냈어요? (Jumal jal bonaess-eoyo?)

‘주말에 뭐했어요?’ is ‘how was your weekend?’ Many Koreans are use this expression on Monday when meet colleagues and friends.

4. 점심 먹으러 가자 (Jemsim meog-euleo gaja)

‘점심 먹으러 가자’ is ‘Let’s go have lunch’. You can use this expression on lunch time at office to your colleagues, or can use to your friends at lunch time.

5. 출근하는 중입니다. (Chulgeunhaneun jung-ibnida)

‘출근하는 중입니다’ is ‘I’m on my way to work.’

To be continue…

--

--

Daehyun Lim (Ray)
Ray’s Life Story

I’m working in IT industry and I try to study English. I would like communicate with various people in here.