I have pint, quart and gallon containers of wood glue and I transferred some to smaller bottles. Twist open tops are much easier to use than the push pull tops on most wood glues.

Bigger Is Not Always Better

The rumors have been greatly exaggerated.

Tom Broeski
3 min readDec 30, 2022

--

I use many types of solvents in the shop. For years I just got out the cans when I needed to use one.

A few years back I finally got smart and started using squeeze bottles. I never use that much of any one solvent at a time, so it just made sense to fill up the small bottles instead. I’ve made a couple of different racks to hold them and this is the latest. I took a scrap piece of wood and set out the bottles I wanted to use.

I then marked where they would go.

Then I punched the centers and used the appropriate bits and drilled about three quarters of the way in.

You can just set it on your bench like this…

…or mount it somewhere like I did here.

To mark the bottles, you will need to use a marker that the solvents won’t erase. A black ‘industrial’ Sharpie works well.

Here’s a previous rack I made. They were out of these particular bottles the last time I went to order. I actually like the new ones better, since they have various sizes. Twist off tops are much better than these snap-on ones.

Even if you only use a couple of different solvents, having smaller bottles is really much more convenient. Finding them is easy: just put squeeze bottles in your Amazon search. Look for the ones that suit your needs. Avoid any with small tips that can clog. In Resources, I have provided the link to the ones I bought.

Thanks for reading, best of luck with your projects and please let me know if there is a particular tip you would like to see!

©2023 Tom Broeski

Resources

  • Belinlen Plastic Squeeze Bottles with Twist Cap — These “squeeze bottles can be used…for cookie decorating, food coloring, royal icing, condiments, syrups, dressings, oils, vinegars, and sauces…”.
  • Tom’s Tips — The complete compendium as presented on the pages of the New RC Soaring Digest.

All images by the author. Read the next article in this issue, return to the previous article in this issue or go to the table of contents. A PDF version of this article, or the entire issue, is available upon request.

--

--