The positioning of the balancer while balancing is in progress.

CG Balancer for Large Scale Sailplanes

So simple (yet effective) it almost explains itself.

Tom Broeski
2 min readNov 30, 2022

--

I was always having trouble balancing my large planes. It seemed I needed two people to assist me. They would have to crawl under the wing and hold up the plane. It wasn’t very accurate and I wanted something I could use by myself. Here’s the simple center of gravity (CG) balancer for large scale planes that I came up with.

Left: Place under plane, as shown. | Right: Push the U-shaped handle down to lever the plane up.

Place under plane and push down. Lets you lift the plane from ground, rather than having to lift the plane by hand and set it on something. I used 1/2" aluminum rod, but you can use a pipe and ‘T’ rig also.

Works great!

©2022 Tom Broeski

Resources

  • Tom’s Tips — The complete compendium as presented on the pages of the New RC Soaring Digest.

All images by the author. Read the next article in this issue, return to the previous article in this issue or go to the table of contents. A PDF version of this article, or the entire issue, is available upon request.

--

--