The Carbon Electric 200E on an evening flight in some imagined future.

PSS Candidate | Carbon Electric 200E

A 21st century update of Ettore Bugatti and Louis de Monge’s classic Bugatti 100P.

Max Schneider
The New RC Soaring Digest
4 min readMay 14, 2021

--

Since I was a kid I was always fascinated by airplanes and flying. To this day getting my private pilot’s license is on top of my list waiting to be crossed off — but can’t find quite the time for it right at the moment.

As a professional car designer, the Bugatti 100P quickly caught my attention with its gorgeous design and unique history. It is my all time favorite airplane and this project, the Carbon Electric 200E is my way of paying homage to Ettore Bugatti and Louis de Monge. However, I didn’t want to just copy it, but add a unique twist and incorporate own ideas into what could be a modern successor of the original 100P which was never flown.

Meet the Carbon Electric 200E

The Carbon Electric 200E.

The Carbon Electric 200E concept is a full carbon monocoque two seater with a powerful electric motor for ultra premium recreational flying. It is longer and differently proportioned compared to the Bugatti — I wanted to rebalance it’s appearance and emphasize it’s unique empennage configuration. Special details like the fully integrated taillight and light stripe on top, an integrated and aerodynamic tail wheel, a fully seamless and rivetless appearance thanks to carbon fibre and only one propeller to simplify technology distinguish the Carbon Electric 200E from its grandfather as much as the differently shaped and angled main wings.

The configuration of the original Bugatti 100P (drawings: Louis de Monge)

The longer aircraft fuselage makes room for two people, because I genuinely believe the joy of flying should be shared. However, for seekers of maximum performance I additionally created a one seater with shorter fuselage (the 100E) coming closer to the original 100P.

In the RC world I started with cars but got super excited once I saw videos of FPV drones, which got me into drone racing. I then expanded my interest into FPV wings but lately haven’t had much time to fly here in Tokyo.

Therefore, I was pleased to be approached by RCSD to write a brief article about the 200E as a potential subject for power scale soaring (PSS). I was not even aware such a thing existed! But I am excited about the possibility of having a reader (or readers!) create an actual flying example of the 200E as a glider. I dare not dream that might even lead to a full-size version at some point in the admittedly distant future.

To get the creative juices flowing, here are various renderings of the Carbon Electric 200E. You can make any of these images larger simply by clicking on them. To view them in the highest resolution, right-click and save them to your local storage and then view them with any image viewer.

Fun fact: my interest in RC sailplanes might be encoded into my DNA. My father was a professional hang glider pilot in the 1970s and 1980s and I found it super interesting!

You can find me on Instagram where I will post more aircraft designs in the future. I wish you all luck in the development of a 200E PSS. If you have any questions, please write a response to this article below. While my work as a Senior Automotive Exterior Designer keeps me very busy, I will do my best to answer your questions when I can.

Thanks very much for reading and the very best of luck with your projects.

©2021 Max Schneider

All images are ©2018 Max Schneider, all rights reserved, used here with persmission. All rights reserved.Read the next article in this issue, return to the previous article or go to the table of contents. Downloadable PDFS: just this article or this entire issue.

--

--