Quick Covers

Protect your investment with this relatively inexpensive and easy-to-work material.

Tom Broeski
The New RC Soaring Digest
4 min readFeb 27, 2022

--

I used to use quilted fabric from Joann’s to sew all my plane covers. However, single-sided reflective insulation is also a very good, quick alternative (see Resources, below, for links to both materials) for just about any size wing, tip or tail. It can be sewn, but I decided to try something else. So…

I took and folded over the material and laid the part on top.

I heated up a sealing iron to full heat. I used a tack iron, but the edge of a larger one will work fine. You can also use a soldering iron. I ran the iron around the part, pressing down and melting the inside foam and thus gluing the mylar together. The mylar will not melt.

Then cut I out the piece making sure not to cut too close.

I added a couple Velcro tabs. I used thin Velcro, since the thick stuff is too hard to separate and peels off the foam.

That’s it. It took only a few minutes and I didn’t have to get out the sewing machine.

Here’s the Sprite tail and Speedo wing covers which I approached in the same way.

To press the fold, set iron on medium or work fast. Repeat for other half. Cut about halfway into the crease, making sure not to cut too close. If you do, just reheat the seam. I cut opposite tabs on each wing cover and put on a little Velcro tab.

I now do almost all my plane covers this way. This is a Royale/Viper set.

Have at it, let me know if you have any questions and thank you for reading.

©2022 Tom Broeski

Resources

All images are by the author. Check out all of Tom’s Tips here in RC Soaring Digest. Read the next article in this issue, return to the previous article in this issue or go to the table of contents. A PDF version of this article, or the entire issue, is available upon request.

--

--