Sanding Mops

This cost-saving alternative will let you clean up while you contour your fuselage.

Tom Broeski
The New RC Soaring Digest
4 min readMay 29, 2022

--

Over the years I’ve bought sanding mops from various places. My favorite is Klingspor’s Woodworking shop. There is lots of information and a good video from them linked in the Resources section.

However, when I don’t have time to wait, or I need a specific grit, I make my own with cut sandpaper. Normally, I cut 2" x 6" cloth pieces. Takes about 25 minutes to make and mount 48 sheets. Normal cost would be around $30 + shipping.

I made a simple template from some scrap phenolic sheet I had. Marked and cut the slots and drilled a hole for the center. I get eight pieces from a 9" x 12" sheet.

Slit the cloth. I have a bunch of slightly used blades from cutting covering material — I change blades often when cutting covering material. I get about eight pieces before I toss the blade. You can also make a couple passes on a diamond hone, but blades are pretty cheap, so I don’t do that much anymore. Use a punch for the center hole.

I also use 2" roll cloth. This goes a bit faster.

The mandrel can be as simple as a bolt, couple of washers and a nut.

Alternate face up, face down with a half overlap.

You can use it either fixed on a drill press or using a handheld drill.

I often use several different grits on my long mandrel. I also use the sheet scrap on my Dremel.

I also have a simple sander/buffer made from worn out hook and loop discs. (I don’t like throwing much of anything away). I cut a round template from phenolic (you can use plastic, wood or whatever you have around for templates).

I also mount these face up face down.

I use this without buffing compound mostly for fine finish on wood, and a regular buffing wheel with compound when doing metal.

Good luck, please let me know if you have any questions and thanks for reading.

©2022 Tom Broeski

Resources

All images are by the author. Check out all of Tom’s Tips here in the New RC Soaring Digest. Read the next article in this issue, return to the previous article in this issue or go to the table of contents. A PDF version of this article, or the entire issue, is available upon request.

--

--