The tops of the boxes torn off and put in a drawer for easy access to my inventory of refurbished sanding disks.

Save Money on Sanding Disks

Why buy new when you can refurbish what you have and pocket the difference.

Tom Broeski
3 min readDec 30, 2021

--

I go through hundreds of sanding disks in a year. However, I find some worn-out loop disks that won’t recover from cleaning with the abrasive stick (below) can be used as backing for new sandpaper.

I pay up to $0.80 each in quantity for good disks. I started recovering the worn-out ones using sheet paper that cost around $0.49 per 8″x10″ sheet.

Trying to clean the disk with an abrasive stick.

I find a sheet of the grit I need. In this case, it is 220 grit. I use some spray glue on the face of the disks. Normally I use a Camie product, but spray glue of any type should work. I grabbed some 3M 90 Spray Adhesive here.

I then stick the disks to the back of the sheet and cut them out.

Since my disks are 5″, I end up with two disks and a partial sheet left. This works out great since I rarely use a full sheet for anything. The leftover fits my long sanding block perfectly.

I tear off the tops of the boxes and put them in a drawer for easy access as shown in the photo at the top of this article, above the title.

If you have any questions, please use the Responses section below and I will do my best to answer them.

’Til next month!

©2021 Tom Broeski

Read the next article in this issue, return to the previous article in this issue or go to the table of contents. A PDF version of this article, or the entire issue, is available upon request.

--

--