August 2019 | Re:Coded Round-Up

Re:Coded Team
Re:Coded
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2019

One bootcamp comes to an end and two others are just beginning, here’s our August recap.

Re:Coded arrives in Sana’a, Yemen

Last year, we were able to raise over $10,000 USD during our #Code4Yemen campaign. That enabled us to launch our first-ever bootcamp in the country; a 4-month Front-End Web Development course.

We had an outpouring of response, with over 800 applications. This reaffirmed our commitment to launching a coding bootcamp in Yemen; to provide access to those who may not otherwise be able to work in the digital space. After a 3-phase selection process, the team interviewed 70 candidates, in order to select our first cohort of 15 students. It is bittersweet knowing we were unable to accept everyone who expressed interest, so we’re already looking forward to launching future programs in Sana’a.

“Interviewing 70 students, it gave me insights into their stories that were full of passion, hopes, struggles, and dreams. They all believed in one thing; Coding was a way to help them accomplish their dream whether it be finding a job, building ideas, and ultimately joining the digital economy.”

Mohamed Alaoudi, Yemen Program Manager

#ReCodedFellows: Hakan Yildiz

Hakan is a fellow in our Front-End Web Development Bootcamp in Gaziantep. He shares his story below:

“Hi all, my name is Hakan and I am originally from Gaziantep, Turkey. After losing three friends last year, I needed to change my life. I had been working in Food Engineering — a career that my family had pushed me into. I decided it was time to change my life and career into something I wanted and was passionate about.

I’ve always been interested in Game Development but lacked a background in coding. I started to search for programs offering coding in Turkey, and was surprised to see that Re:Coded was launching a program in Gaziantep! So I applied and was accepted. During this bootcamp, I’ve started to find myself again, the class became my home, and my fellow students became my family.

One of the best things, is Re:Coded will have its German-Turkish Youth Exchange, and I was chosen as a mentor for the trip. I’m really excited for this journey to Berlin, as I’ve never travelled outside of Turkey before.”

Bootcamp kicks off in Baghdad, Iraq

This month we launched our first-ever bootcamp in Baghdad. We received over 250 applications for our Front-End Web Development Bootcamp. The 4-month bootcamp will take students with little to no knowledge in coding to becoming experienced front-end web developers.

Our students are entering their fourth week learning responsive design, having focused on HTML and CSS basics already.

“I am excited to see these students enter this industry and help in shaping how the technology sector will look like in Iraq in the coming years.”

Wisam Naji, Iraq Coding Instructor

To receive the Re:Coded Round-Up, straight to your inbox, click here.

--

--

Re:Coded Team
Re:Coded

We train conflict-affected youth to become the tech leaders of tomorrow.