My story with Re:Coded

Ahmed Breem
Re:Coded
Published in
3 min readApr 25, 2018

My name is Ahmed Breem, and I’m 25 years old. I now live in Istanbul, Turkey but I’m originally from Aleppo, Syria.

Before arriving in Turkey, I was a 4th year-student at Aleppo University, studying Informatics Engineering. In 2014, I was forced to leave Aleppo due to the on-going war. I moved to Turkey with a hope to continue my studies once I had settled down.

One of the main streets in Aleppo

Eventually, I was able to apply for a bachelor’s degree in Computer Engineering at Istanbul University where I currently study.

I was determined to keep on track and continue studying computer science and keep writing code with a cup of coffee, because I can’t imagine a life without the sound of fingers typing on a keyboard.

Coding + Coffee = LIFE

I’ve been able to learning common programming languages as well as practice in web design.

One-day earlier this year, I was scrolling down my Facebook feed and I noticed an advertisement for a coding bootcamp called Re:Coded. I had never heard of it before, but I instantly clicked on that link and read more details about Re:Coded and their Android Development bootcamp.

Without hesitation, I applied for the program and shared the link with everyone I knew.

Coding Bootcamp by Re:Coded

Luckily enough, after a series of quizzes and interviews, I was accepted into the 16-bootcamp alongside 34 wonderful individuals. I’ve been with Re:Coded since March 2018.

It’s now around 6 weeks after kick-off, and I’ve learned the concepts of user interface and inputting for Android Apps. I’ve designed about 4 applications in these past few weeks, and I’m currently learning to design multi-screen apps. We’ve been using the @udacity Android Curriculum.

Android Basics Nano-degree By Google.

By the end of the bootcamp, I’ll have created around 9 projects and finishing my client project (which I’m excited to start soon!). I’ve also loved getting to learn and practice my soft skills such as business communication.

We’ve had 2 guest sessions about Artificial Intelligence & Deep Learning with Tarry Singh, and Sinan Keles, the Head of International Growth at Scorp App.

There’s 10 more weeks to go of hard-work, but I couldn’t be more excited to continue working.

I’m hoping to write and update you on my journey, so keep following and don’t go too far.

Re:Coded is a non-profit organisation training talented youth in conflict affected areas in Turkey, Yemen and Iraq to enter the digital economy as software developers or tech entrepreneurs. We offer a full scholarship for our 6 months bootcamps where we teach the curriculum of the Flatiron School, which was rated #1 coding school in the world in 2019.

--

--