Slovenia in a goodie bag!

Re.Meh
Re.Meh
Published in
3 min readApr 6, 2017

--

Old world charm, with a slow paced progress, Slovenia is safely nestled between the biggies of Europe, enjoying a strategic location in the European continent (once a part of former Yugoslavia).

Couldn’t wait to see this little “wonder package” steeped in history, keeping its ethnographic features intact!

My exploration started with Lake Bled

Lake Bled is the epitome of natural beauty with its glacial emerald green waters that beckon you to gape endlessly, mesmerizing you. Surrounded by the snow dusted Julian Alps, a tiny island in the center and a 1000 years old castle perched on a nearby cliff completes the setting of a postcard.

What more could one want whilst eating the famous scrumptious, “Kremsnita” (Bled Cream Cake) beside the lake at one of the cute lakeside cafes?

Triglav National Park, Slovenia

Well, bled isn’t complete without a hike in the Triglav national park — “Slovenians pride”. As the tradition goes, you wouldn’t be called a true Slovenian if you haven’t climbed the Mt. Triglav! (I wouldn’t dare, never mind being called a Slovenian at that!)

A drive through the park which houses the serene Lake Bohinj is worth a photo stop (Time stands still here, and so does the lake)
Just as nearby is Vogel Ski Resort accessible by a glass bubble cable car which deports you to a sight of skiers in full throttle.
Satiating my thirst with Laska and Union their local beers, and my hunger at Gostišče Erlah (Cafe De Degustation) on my way back to lake Bled, I rejoiced in my day well spent.
Ljubljana, Slovenia

Waving a goodbye to bled and welcoming myself to the eclectic town of Ljubljana, designed by the local architect Jose plecnik, I take a walking tour in Stare Mesto (old town).

Being a car free zone, I pass through a treasure trove of varied architecture

(Ljubljana castle, dragon bridge, triple bridge etc.) ending the glorious history lesson with their vintage white of the region, Goriska Brda.

Postonja Caves, Slovenia

In around Ljubljana there is plenty to see, one being the Karst region famed for its 2 million cave system, the Postonja caves, which leave you spellbound!

A fairy tale land created by various natural art forms of limestone stalactites and stalagmites taking you through a maze of passageways, crevices and caverns.

Beyond the Postonja is a unique castle, the Predjama castle, that tells a story of a robber baron, who used this as his safe house for years!
Piran, Slovenia

So now my want of seaside zeal takes me to Slovenia’s Adriatic coastline, where a tiny medieval village of Piran lies, with its charming seaside cafes and sun kissed rocky beaches.

With the unending deep blue of the Adriatic bringing in a breeze of fresh air.

Sadly though, enriched with a heavy heart I must bid adieu to this pretty bundle of joy.

I must take this opportunity to thank the grand union hotel head concierge Mr. Blaz for arranging a memorable Slovenian experience for me in the most organized and systematic manner.

My gratitude to the manager as well of the hotel for giving us (my dearest and I) VIP seats to a boxing gala event held at the hotel during my stay there.

Log on to www.re-meh.com for more such experiences.

©All Rights Reserved. No part of this blog may be reproduced and/or copied by any means without prior consent from Reshma Mehta.

--

--

Re.Meh
Re.Meh
Editor for

Founder of www.re-meh.com - We curate luxury travel, with a fusion of genres and lifestyle travel.