Corona Diary (April 12–18)

re(s)public collective
re(s)public collective
2 min readJun 9, 2021

Like everyone, we are currently experiencing challenging times due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Regardless of our nationality, age, or cultural practices, social distancing has rapidly become the norm. The following is a weekly series of thoughts and experiences across five different cities and countries, in the hope of making connections and distinctions in a strange and uncertain time.

Mexico City, Mexico

by Nuria Benítez Gómez

This year is passing by quite quickly! 9% of the Mexican population has been vaccinated so far. Coincidently, almost by the time political campaigns begun.

Brooklyn, New York, The United States

by Jon Gayomali

On April 15th, I received my second does of Moderna. It was a Thursday, and I decided to work from home that day. I had received word from a friend earlier that week that she had awaked in the middle of the night with a fever. That is exactly what had happened to me. I received my shot around 3:30 PM at Walgreens Pharmacy, which is a large chain drugstore. The place was not very crowded and although there weren’t too many symptoms right away (the most notable one being a sore and numb arm) I started having chills in the middle of the night. It was a weird feeling of being sick, but knowing that it was just the vaccine working was a bit confusing. Although I had a scattered fever the next day, I was in high spirits and I began thinking of how life would start opening up again. On Friday night, after work, I gave into taking a Tylenol so I could enjoy my night. I should have taken it sooner as the pain went away and never returned.

--

--