Anime and K-Pop: The Modern Weapons of Cultural Diplomacy

Atanu Kumar Roy
RE-Thinker
Published in
6 min readJul 22, 2024

--

This image is generated by Midjourney

Cinema has always been more than just a form of entertainment; it is a powerful tool of soft power, influencing global perceptions and cultures. Growing up in an Indian middle-class family without access to the internet until 2017, my world was limited to what was broadcast on television. So obviously, at that time, I had no idea about Harry Potter or the MCU. But at that time, an amazing thing happened in India. Anime entered India, dubbed in local languages. Shows like Pokemon, Doraemon, Shinchan, Dragon Ball, and Beyblade became overnight sensations. Among all of this, my favorite was Doraemon. A cat robot came from the future to help a boy achieve his dreams. I loved everything about the show, from the characters, story, and setting. But as I grew older, I realized that among all of these shows, one thing is common: all of them are set in Japan. By watching anime, I got to know a lot about Japan, from its food to its culture, all in a positive way. But now, as a student of political science, I wonder if this is the perfect example of soft power.

This image is owned by Brand Finance

Soft power is a term coined by Joseph Nye, a political scientist in the late 20th century. It refers to the power of attraction and…

--

--

Atanu Kumar Roy
RE-Thinker

I love to write about geopolitical events, so with the help of this platform, I wish to share my writing with the world.