Is the Keyboard Becoming the New Paintbrush? Analyzing This Tool of AI Art

Understanding the validity of AI tech by looking to the past, assessing our present, and examining future opportunities

David W Litwin
RE-Thinker
Published in
10 min readApr 20, 2024

--

image created by the author in Midjourney

While there’s a rush to embrace the new reality of text-to-image and text-to-video AI, many are deathly afraid of these new AI-driven technologies. I discovered this when I peddled my AI “artistry” on a Facebook Group for Children’s book authors.

The backlash from those “digital and traditional artists” in the group was fast and furious. “Oh, then you’re a cheat and a thief, I guess,” was one comment. “So you think that ‘typing’ makes you an artist, huh?!” came another retort. Few of them took the time to learn that I am an artist/designer of 33 years, having started in the days of paste-up and stat cameras; I have made millions developing traditional and digital art, and I have been the CEO of a world-recognized branding and design agency of over 20 years.

To these misguided and misinformed creative-craft workers, weak-kneed at how the rise in AI tech would steal their jobs, I was simply a “hack.”

Most of them weren’t even around to recognize the last time this happened.

--

--