My Dream Media Kit

By Kate Bray

VERB Interactive
re:VERB
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2020

--

I was recently chatting with a friend of mine who is a part-time blogger. She said that in her experience, many brands don’t seem to care about media kits anymore. I can’t relate. I appreciate a well-done media kit so much.

Even though I have a great mix of advanced tools to help me discover and manage influencers, I still do a lot of manual vetting and research to ensure that I’m finding the best talent for our clients, so I request media kits ALL the time. I can confirm that a great, quickly accessible media kit can give talent an edge when I need to make decisions during research and pitching mode.

Want to know what an Influencer Strategist like me looks for? Start with:

  • A nice design. You’re a content creator — let me see your style
  • A snappy ‘About Me’ section that shows off your biggest highlights and what makes you special. If I can paste this into a talent deck with minimal edits, I already love you.
  • A few photo samples

Then include a section about your audience(s) with stats for each channel. Include:

  • Verified first-party audience demographics. Top countries, cities, affinities, interests, education, household income, and ages.
  • Engagement rates for the past 6 months
  • Average impressions per static post AND stories
  • If you have a blog, share your average UMVs verified by Google Analytics

Want to make it even better? Set yourself apart from the rest by telling me about your:

  • Email subscribers (if you have them). How many people are signed up? What’s your open rate? What’s your CTR?
  • Past campaigns. Why were they successful? More than anything I love when a media kit includes mini case studies.
  • Rates. I love a rate sheet. Hear me out: I totally get that depending on the scope of the project you’ll need to make custom quotes. But if you include even a range of what you’ll charge for individual sample deliverables, it will make my life so much easier and in turn, you have a better chance of me pitching you to my client.

Finally, ensure that it’s up-to-date. Current quarter is best, but aim for at least every 6 months.

To my colleagues in the #InfluencerMarketing industry, do you still appreciate a media kit? What would you add to my list? Head on over to our Instagram and let us know!

Kate is a Senior Content Partnership Strategist with VERB Interactive — a leader in digital marketing, specializing in solutions for the travel and hospitality industry. Find out more at www.verbinteractive.com.

Trending digital news delivered straight to your inbox, once a week!

--

--

VERB Interactive
re:VERB
Editor for

VERB is a conversion-focused agency, bringing real revenue to your travel business through digital marketing.