Taking a Social Media Detox

By Katie Langton

VERB Interactive
re:VERB
Published in
4 min readMay 25, 2020

--

Social media is a huge part of our lives right now, more than ever, since most of us are working or self-isolating at home. I don’t know about you, but my social media consumption has gone way up since the middle of March. From getting up-to-date on the latest TikTok dances every night before bed to scrolling the news as soon as I wake up in the morning, to tapping through Instagram Stories when I should be writing this blog — it’s safe to say I’m in need of a little social media detox. I’M ADDICTED! And I can’t be the only one.

In some ways, social media keeps me sane during isolation. It allows me to check-in with loved ones and escape from the boredom of the same four walls of my house. While the positives can’t be ignored, sometimes you need to take a step back and recognize how social media makes you feel, even the negative impacts. When I reflect on my routine, I realize some of my social media consumption isn’t the most effective for my personal wellness. For example, reading the latest about COVID-19 as soon as I wake up, before even getting the coffee going, is probably not the best way to start my morning. And why do I feel the need to pick up my phone every ten minutes to aimlessly tap through Instagram Stories? I’m habitually reaching for my phone, and the habit’s grown bigger. Don’t get me wrong, I love social media. Heck, it’s a huge part of my role at VERB. But I’m ready to minimize my screen time, allowing myself to clear my mind instead of filling it with more clutter. Here’s how I’m going to do it.

There are many different ways to take a social media detox. You can cut it out entirely, choose one specific day of the week to avoid it, or simply just strive to reduce your screen time. I’ll be focusing on the latter of those options.

First, I want to evaluate how much time I’m spending on my most popular apps. I’ll shamelessly say those are Instagram, TikTok, Facebook (yes, I still go on Facebook), and YouTube. Most of these apps have internal trackers within profile settings that will tell you how much time you’ve spent on the app during the last seven days. There are also tracker apps available to do this for you, like Freedom or Moment, which can aid in the detox process.

Next, set a goal for how much you want to reduce your social media consumption. Personally, I’ve decided on a total of one hour less a day. Afraid you won’t be able to hold yourself accountable? Tell someone! If they see you looking at their story 👀, or liking a post when you’re supposed to be offline, they can tell you to get off. Another great tip is to turn off notifications for all of your apps. I know when I wake up in the morning and see all of my notifications (ok, it’s not THAT many), I find it hard not to fall into the dark hole of Instagram for the first half-hour of my day.

With all of this free time, you should decide on new things that deserve your energy. Here are a few activity suggestions, including products from some cool Halifax companies if you’re in the area. #SupportLocal

  • Find a new book to read. The Bookmark in Halifax is doing free curb-side pickup when you shop online!
  • Use the time to meditate and relax. Apps like Headspace are a great substitute for social media apps.
  • Find a new form of exercise. The VERB team is a big fan of Yoga With Adriene or R Studios virtual classes.
  • Start colouring and mail your creations to a pen pal. VERB has some fun colouring sheets and we also love these #RoamFromHome ones from Xanterra Travel Collection.
  • Take up a new hobby like embroidery. Check out @hooklinktinker, who sells modern embroidery kits.
  • Spend more time in the kitchen. Pasta lovers unite! Order fresh pasta kits from local spots like @mariaspantryhfx or @barkismet and indulge in these delicious meals.
  • Have a spa day! Buy some local bath products, like these bath salts from @fieldhousehandmade, and treat yourself to some relaxation time.

So, my goal is to reduce my consumption by one hour a day — the first half-hour and the last half-hour — and I invite you to challenge yourself to do the same. My theory is cutting down on social media time will clear my mind of the bad energy and reducing the senseless scrolling will give me time to recharge. What do you think? Could you use less time on social media?

Katie is a Digital Marketing Consultant with VERB Interactive — a leader in digital marketing, specializing in solutions for the travel and hospitality industry. Find out more at www.verbinteractive.com.

Trending digital news delivered straight to your inbox, once a week!

--

--

VERB Interactive
re:VERB
Editor for

VERB is a conversion-focused agency, bringing real revenue to your travel business through digital marketing.