Welcome Tanya — Team Spotlight

Big Vision
re.vision
Published in
3 min readJan 31, 2017

Get to know Tanya, our Spring Intern Class copywriter. She’s here to drop quippy lines and learn a few things while collabing with us.

A little background

My name is Tanya Betancurth and I come from a long line of Colombian ancestry. Yes, occasionally I do get caught up in my own head translating a word from Spanish to English. I’ve been an Orlando native for 23 years now and my appreciation for the “City Beautiful” only continues to grow.

Hi — I’m Tanya and I write things.

How’d you get here?

I recently graduated from the University of Central Florida with a major in interdisciplinary studies and a minor in mass communication. My areas of focus were in health and writing.

What fuels your writing?

I like to read books of all genres from the all too familiar Pride & Prejudice to Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis, the lead singer of Red Hot Chili Peppers. I feel most inspired by writing that encompasses raw honesty and uncovers a relevant testimonial through the story of a character or personal anecdote. I have felt a very therapeutic connection to writing since I took my first creative writing course, which motivated me to pursue an advanced literature course my senior year. Since then, writing has allowed me to physically see my voice and make sense of the thoughts constantly fluttering in my head.

What do you enjoy?

I like to stay current on community events and attend everything from slam poetry competitions to art festivals. I’m a big fan of local businesses and love to test out cultural cuisines.

What’s the soundtrack to your life?

It would have to be Rhiannon by Stevie Nicks because she is a raspy Rock n Roll goddess and the queen of my heart.

As a native, what’s your favorite Orlando hole-in-the-wall?

Because food is on my mind 72% of the time, I would have to say Super Rico Colombian Bistro is the hidden gem of downtown Orlando. It’s a cozy atmosphere with a delicious take on Colombian cuisine!

Our lovely Spring ’17 Interns

Teach us a funny Spanish phrase.

When I was younger I loved playing outside with all the neighborhood kids, except I was the clumsy one of the bunch. This meant my mom always had to sing me a little jingle to soothe the pain away:

“Sana que sana,

culito de rana.

Si no sana hoy,

sanará mañana.”

What’s your Netflix guilty pleasure?

This is a hard one because I do love when the show manages to couple crafty characterization with good humor, so this could range from Gossip Girl to Louis C.K.’s Louie.

Why do you like coming into Big Vision each day?

The first time I saw the office I couldn’t help but describe it as a portal to another universe. It’s covered in glass windows, which let in a friendly amount of natural lighting. For me, it’s the perfect space to allow creativity to become the foundation of our work.

And a huge shout out to the incredible team we get to work with because walking in every morning to smiling faces makes a big difference in my days!!

Favorite line from a book?

“Stay gold, ponyboy” from The Outsiders.

Social

Follow her and her pup around on Instagram @tanyanix and stay tuned to see what incredible pieces she produces.

This girl has a #bigvision.

If you enjoyed this post, keep an eye out for the rest of our employee spotlights so you can meet the rest of our awesome team.

If you’d like to join us head over to our careers page and show us what you’ve got.

Learn more about Big Vision, and if you’re curious about working together let us know!

A modern creative agency.

--

--

Big Vision
re.vision

A modern creative agency using creative, content, and technology to move brands. #believeinbetter