Employee Spotlight—Andrew

Big Vision
re.vision
Published in
4 min readFeb 28, 2017

--

Learn a little about our digital renaissance man, Andrew. He’s one of the awesome Creatives behind much of our work!

Tell us about your background.

I’m from Pennsylvania and moved to Florida when I was 22 to attend Full Sail University in Orlando... and also because of the warmth. I’ve been interested in design since high school when I first started learning Photoshop from a really great teacher. As far as hobbies are concerned, on the weekends I’ll usually take a motorcycle ride up through Winter Park. I’ve been riding for about 7 years now, and currently own a KTM.

Andrew’s RC390.

What’s your favorite part about what you do?

Happy clients and working with people who are excited about the end product. When I get to deliver something that the client is proud to show off, that’s when it feels like a success.

Do you have a piece of client work that stands out as your favorite?

My favorite client work so far has been The Assistance Fund, specifically the video projects. It was just really interesting to go meet actual people who each had a story to tell, and to know that the work we were doing would directly impact them.

What music gets you pumped?

My favorite band is Between the Buried and Me, and I guess if I had to pick a favorite song of theirs, it would be White Walls. I like the progressive metal genre, but I’m also into calmer stuff like Sigur Ros, Death Cab for Cutie, or Bright Eyes.

Outside of work what are your hobbies or interests?

Apart from riding my motorcycle, I’d say PS4 is the other thing that sucks up my time. I usually just play the stereotypical blockbuster stuff—Skyrim, GTA5, Destiny, Rainbow 6 Siege. Pretty unremarkable.

I’m also sort of a car guy. On weekends while I’m up in Winter Park, I’ll usually be keeping an eye out for rare stuff. Where I grew up we didn’t get many exotics, so I still enjoy being able to see nice cars more frequently down here. A good bit of my Reddit karma comes from posting shots to /r/spotted.

Lamborghini Aventador on Park Ave

What’s your favorite video game of all time?

Destiny is probably my favorite because a bunch of my friends from home play it, and it’s one of the ways that I keep in contact with them which is great.

Favorite candy?

Sour Patch watermelons.

How do you get or stay inspired for your design work?

The Brand New blog is something I always follow. I’ll also look at Pinterest, Dribbble, Awwwards and talk to friends in the design community to get ideas and see what new things are circulating.

What design style speaks to you most?

Clean minimalism is what I’m on right now, but I like textured gritty stuff too. I like clean, minimalist design because I’m always looking for ways to be as efficient as possible with the work that I do. I don’t want to have anything in the design that doesn’t serve a purpose.

Recent Dribbble shot
Brand concept for a crossfit gym.

Follow Andrew’s creative journey on Instagram @imandrewpons and on Dribbble.

If you enjoyed this post, keep an eye out for more of our employee spotlights so you can meet the rest of our awesome team.

If you’d like to join us head over to our careers page and show us what you’ve got.

A modern creative agency.

--

--

Big Vision
re.vision

A modern creative agency using creative, content, and technology to move brands. #believeinbetter