25 Fun Ways to Extend a Brand Design

Anyone can put a logo on a t-shirt and hat — let’s get creative!

Diamond Alexander
RE: Write
2 min readMar 15, 2019

--

Dmitry Mashkin @artcoastdesign / Unsplash

As a brand design student, I am always asked to mock up and showcase my brand identity designs beyond the slide deck. My instructors want to see how my designs would work really, really small (like on an app icon) or really, really large (like on a billboard). They want to know that I’ve considered the variety of ways my designs might be or could be used once I’ve passed my files along to the client.

But I am just as guilty as anyone else of using the same sticker, t-shirt, and hat mockups to show that I’ve put my brand design into a variety of contexts. That is expected and doesn’t take much work on my part. If I really took the time to think about the unique ways a potential client would use and apply my identity system, I’m sure I would come up with some fun and novel ways to showcase the branding. I thought this would be a good exercise for me and could maybe help inspire creativity in my fellow designers out there.

Here are 25 different ways (hopefully I’ll keep adding to this!) to extend your brand design and showcase your work in contexts unique to the brand you’re working on. I’ve also added a few of my go-to mockup websites towards the end. Sometimes just going through to see what mockups are out there inspire me to come up with something fun. Happy branding!

Put your logo/brand design on/in…

  1. a pair of underwear
  2. a pair of socks
  3. a water bottle/sports bottle
  4. a book cover
  5. a candy bar
  6. a corporate gift set
  7. a cellphone case
  8. a pair of jeans
  9. a pair of shoes
  10. a pair of glasses
  11. a picture frame
  12. wrapping paper
  13. a box of chocolates
  14. a plane
  15. a scooter
  16. a basketball
  17. a can of food
  18. a sticker
  19. a gift card and holder
  20. a refrigerator magnet
  21. a coffee cup
  22. a cereal box
  23. a trashcan
  24. a welcome mat
  25. a t-shirt, obviously

A few mockup sites I like

ZippyPixels

MockupWorld

Yellow Images

GraphicBurger

Free Mockup

Moose (haven’t tried but recommended by a classmate)

If you think of any cool ideas to add, please comment them below and I’ll add them to the list!

--

--

Diamond Alexander
RE: Write

Visual Designer + Developer building cool stuff in Denver, CO. MA in Strategic Communication Design at CU Boulder (August 2019)