5 Struggles Designers Experience When Working in Public

I love a great coffee shop, but sometimes getting work done can be a challenge…

Sarah Cohen
RE: Write
2 min readJun 27, 2019

--

Photo by Nolan Issac on Unsplash

This week, I have been trying to get out of my house and work in coffee shops and other shared spaces. I had been moving slow working from home, and I find the energy and quiet buzz of other people motivating. For the most part, it has been super productive, but my search for the perfect spot to work in is still ongoing. Of course, these are all first-world problems and we are lucky to be able to work where we want, but it is nice to discuss the little things we all experience as designers in 2019.

Slow Wi-Fi

The most obvious, but substantial challenge of getting work done is often the Wi-Fi. We are so privileged to have so much free Wi-Fi available, but it is hard to gauge how it will be on any given day, especially at a new place. When the Wi-Fi is slow, you either have to pack up and change locations, overcharge your phone bill and use your hotspot or try and get the things you can do done without Wi-Fi- it can definitely slow down your productivity.

Outlets

Similarly, where are all the outlets? It seems like there are never enough. My poor computer can only last a few hours without a charge, so I am always looking for a spot near a wall. I have definitely been in the situation where I had to go home because my tech died, and it is no fun.

When You Need to Get Up

Maybe it is just me, but I hate having to use the restroom or get a refill. I hate to ask a stranger to watch my things, especially when they have headphones in or look busy, but I can’t bring myself to leave my computer and other possessions unattended.

Lack of Monitors

I love my set up with an extra monitory at home, and I know I am not alone. The extra space is so helpful, and I always miss it when I work remotely.

Forgetting Your Mouse or Hard Drive

Really, forgetting anything you need. Extra paper, your favorite pen, your sketch book…

Despite all of these, for me, working in public is much more productive than working at home. As I continue my search for the perfect coffee shop, I really can’t complain. I get to try great coffee around my area and get some much needed time out of the house- and that makes it a win.

--

--

Sarah Cohen
RE: Write

Experience Design Student | CMCI Studio, CU Boulder | Inspired by good coffee, sunny weather and passionate people.