A Little Blurb on What I’ve Been Taking Care of in Quarantine

Nick Lunt
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readApr 17, 2020

And that is….Tomatoes!

Twenty tomato plant sprouts started from seeds are sprouting out of a temporary pot, a dirt filled take out box.

This is probably not very exciting for most but I can tell you, since we’ve been in isolation, these little sprouts have been my best friends. There’s no shortage of articles out there about why keeping plants in your office or living space is good for you, but in my experience, I can say they are very true.

As someone without roommates who has very little human interaction during the average quarantine day, waking up each morning to remember that I have to take care of my plants is a very motivating thing. Creating a daily schedule for myself when I no longer have to go out to class has become easier, thanks to starting with morning ‘I have to put the tomatoes either outside or in the window’ or ‘I have to check to make sure they all have enough water’. This is a great way to get you out of bed in the morning if you’re struggling to face the day. If you can’t get up for yourself, get up for the living plants who are depending on you.

A close up of the tomato plant sprouts.

It’s also been a nice reminder to take care of myself as well.

“Well, if I’m giving my plants water and sunlight, I should be giving myself some as well” is a powerful thought, especially if you find yourself losing track of time and forgetting to drink enough water or eat. If every time you walk by your plants, you have this thought, you’ll be drinking the daily amount of water in no time.

The now empty packet that the tomato seeds came in.

These sprouts here are all started from seeds that I planted exactly two weeks ago and all appear to be thriving and doing well. I’ll be separating them and putting in bigger pots soon, whenever they get their second set of leaves.

Now, it’s also true that plants definitely just boost your mood in general. It’s definitely been making me happy to check on my plants each day and see how they’re doing. Not to mention just how nice it can be to take a pause from everything else and sit by the windowsill, looking over the little sprouts. No worries for that moment, only little plants.

On my last grocery run, I also picked up this little guy, who’s further along than my sprouts. Because I’m a tad impatient, lol.

AND HE’S ALREADY TO GOT A FEW FLOWERS, READY FOR FRUIT.

--

--