Be the Type of Leader You Would Want to Follow

(And other things I learned in grad school)

Kelly Phillips
RE: Write
4 min readJun 18, 2019

--

STUDIO X: Class of 2019

It’s hard to believe that my time in grad school has almost come to an end, and that I’ll be starting a career as UX Designer in August. Looking back now, part of me is glad it’s almost over. Grad school has been a year-long bubble of doing hundreds of hours of work that you’re not getting paid for, and trying not to show up to class with under-eye bags. But at the same time, it’s been a real blessing to learn from some of the best in the industry and gain amazing mentors. Other than learning vital design skills, I’ve learned so many lessons that I will carry on into my future career. The following are short snippets of some of the learnings I’ll take with me:

Be the type of leader you would want to follow.

This is the mantra I’ve tried to live by. One of the most important lessons I’ve learned this year is that being a leader doesn’t necessarily mean claiming decision-making authority and then doling out tasks for your team to complete. Listen to and respect the people you’re working with. Treat your teammates the way you’d want to be treated by a future employer.

It’s okay to flaunt what you’ve got.

Someone once told me, “If you don’t have confidence in your work, how can an employer?” It’s not braggy to know your work is bomb. Stop with the self-deprecating talk and own it.

Try not to let your stress show.

I don’t care how many hours you’ve been up, how awful your work came out, and if the wrong color sticky notes ended up being used… play it cool.

Don’t let people get to you.

I don’t have to become someone I’m not to please those around me. All types of personalities can become successful. I can kill it at my first job without trying to be the center of attention all the time.

It’s okay to not have all the answers.

Grad school is about learning. If you already know everything, then why are you even here?

Do things that scare you.

Public speaking makes me want to vomit. I get shaky and red, and often lose what I’m about to say mid-sentence. Knowing this weakness about myself, I decided to present at the final pitch event in front of tons of people. I know I need to get better at this, and this is the only way I know how.

Be yourself, but keep growing.

By far the most important thing I’ve learned this year is to embrace who you are, weaknesses and all. I’m not going to always be the center of attention, the best illustrator, or the one who always knows all the answers. But I want to keep being me: someone who’s a little quirky and weird, who will work harder than anyone to produce top-notch deliverables and designs. No matter where my career takes me, my goal is to always keep learning and growing, but still stay true to myself.

--

--