Building a Portfolio with Bootstrap

Rebekah Sosa
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readDec 1, 2017

There are 3 weeks left in the semester and my classmates and I have been tasked with putting together a portfolio. We can use a platform of our choice to showcase our work and I’ve decided to use Bootstrap. Bootstrap is a free and open-source framework for designing websites.

One of my goals this year is to work on my front-end development skills, so this will be a good challenge. My first step was to find a template. There are tons of resources out there, I wanted something that was clean and simple. Now that I’ve downloaded the files, I can personalize the code and upload it to github.

Github

Github is a great tool to host and collaborate on projects. After creating a profile on github, I used github pages to host my site. This is a free service, each user can host one site for free.

The Command Line

Learning to use the terminal is an important step when learning to code and understanding how push things to github. With just a few commands a user is able to establish a workflow and track progress on github.

Opting to build a portfolio with bootstrap over a platform like squarespace or wix is certainly a more challenging decision. However, I’m excited to work with some of the other students in my class on the code and to continue to build on my front-end development skills.

--

--

Rebekah Sosa
RE: Write

I am currently enrolled in CU Boulder’s MA in Strategic Communication Design. My focus is UX design, brand strategy and front-end development.