Crave-worthy Playlists to Design To

You’ll want to play these on repeat, trust me.

Diamond Alexander
RE: Write
5 min readJul 3, 2019

--

I need noise to focus. I feel like my brain is constantly “on” so I need some kind of auditory distraction to actually help siphon the constant stream of thoughts into something coherent and polished. Before I get into the playlists, here are a few of my top tips for finding music or sounds that will help you focus:

  • If you use Spotify, don’t underestimate the power of your Daily Mixes. They help me discover new artists in genres I already like, helping to keep my focus music interesting.
  • Have a go-to for different moods. If I’m leisurely working on the styling of a web project, I might play something more sexy and smooth but when I was working against tight deadlines last semester, for example, I played a lot of Paramore and punk music to match the intensity of the work.
  • Sometimes, music isn’t the answer. I’ve been getting into binaural beats lately and whether they *really work* or are a placebo sometimes, those videos are the only things that work for me. I share a couple I like below.
  • And truth be told, while I’m sharing some of my favorite playlists and artists in this post, my #1 go-to method is to play the EXACT SAME SONG over and over and over until it becomes like white noise. Not sure what that’s about but it works!

As I wrap up my graduate design program this summer, I’ve spent a lot of time working alone and out of necessity, learned to replicate what works to keep me in the zone. Here are a few of my old faithful playlists and songs (and a few newcomers) that I believe will help you focus on your work and projects as well. I’ve separated them into different categories so hopefully there’s a little something here for everyone.

If you’re looking for something…

Relaxed and Chill

Photo by anja. on Unsplash

Check out the “Mellow Mood” or “Lofi Love” playlists on Spotify. Mellow Mood, in particular, has been one I’ve really enjoyed this summer. I remember liking it so much one day that I kept it playing even after I left the coffee shop I was working in. I’m not super into lofi beats but every once in a while, I’ll try out a playlist for a work session.

Jazzy and Romantic

Photo by Zachary Nelson on Unsplash

This Coffeeshop Jazz playlist is one of my ALL-TIME favorites to work to. And honestly, just a soundtrack I like to have in the background of my life. I’ve had this playing in my room when visiting my parents and they joke that it sounds like I have a full jazz lounge in there. It’s sexy, diverse, and features artists from a variety of time periods and backgrounds. This one goes great with a glass of red wine and the focused determination of a master craftsperson.

Soulful and Folk

Credit: Atwood Magazine

I first heard a snippet of a Jordan Mackampa song in a recipe video and immediately did an intense Google search of the lyrics so I could figure out whose mouth that beautiful music was coming from! He gets his own feature because he has a couple of songs that I think are totally repeat-worthy and so satisfying to work to. They are soulful but also upbeat and joy-filled. My suggestions: “Saint” (the song I heard in the recipe video) and “Under.” The bridge in “Under” is one of my favorite parts of the song. So good!

Angsty and R&B

Credit: Spin

I’ve liked Kehlani for a while now but her newest album “While We Wait” is something special. My favorites from the album are “Nunya,” “Nights Like These,” and “Morning Glory.” They all tell a different story and I usually listen to her album when it’s late, I’m getting tired, and have just a little bit more to take care of before I can sleep. I don’t want to listen to anything too relaxing — I’d fall asleep. Or anything too punchy — then I might not be able to sleep. This album is perfect for ending the night with. Honorable Mention: if you don’t mind very explicit language and want something a little more edgy to help get you through a tough project, check out Saweetie. You won’t be disappointed.

Experimental and Science-y

Photo by Mitya Ivanov on Unsplash

This is one of my favorite categories because it’s so different from the others and is successful in its own right. I love ASMR videos and have absolutely used them to relax and focus with. However, they can get to be a little too relaxing and I find it hard to stay awake if I’m up late. More recently, I’ve gotten into binaural beat/focus music videos on YouTube and I think they work! Again, it may be a placebo effect but who cares if it works? Here are two videos I’ve listened to lately that I enjoyed and I think were successful in helping me focus.

Video 1: Music for Work and Concentration, Focus Music, Binaural Beats
Video 2: 90 Minutes of Focused Studying: The Best Binaural Beats

And if you’re interested, my new favorite repeat song for the summer is WALK THE MOON’s “Avalanche.” I heard it in a coffee shop the other day and seriously can’t stop playing it.

Happy listening and if there are any artists, playlists, or woo-woo brainwave videos you find helpful to work to, share them below!

--

--

Diamond Alexander
RE: Write

Visual Designer + Developer building cool stuff in Denver, CO. MA in Strategic Communication Design at CU Boulder (August 2019)