Daily UI Challenge: Week 1

Improving my design skills in 100 days

Kelly Phillips
RE: Write
3 min readJul 3, 2019

--

Preface

I decided to begin the Daily UI Challenge recently. I held off on signing up because I was worried I wouldn’t have time to work on it, or would fall behind and end up with designs I wasn’t crazy about. Now that it’s summer, and I’m working on my portfolio, I decided to start the challenge and add a section to my website documenting all of my designs. I’d really love to improve my visual/UI design skills, so I feel that including these as a section on my website will show future employers that I’m dedicated to improving my craft. I found that doing this daily UI exercise has been a really great and productive to spend downtime, and has actually gotten me more creatively inspired.

The following are the first few UI Challenges I’ve completed. Daily UI doesn’t get sent out over the weekend, so I looked up the list and decided to jump around the list this weekend.

Day 1: Sign Up Page for Brightland
I decided to start with a brand that I love: Brightland Olive Oil. They have sweet and simple packaging, with pops of color. I’ve wanted to do something based around their brand for a while, so I turned it into my own illustration style.

Day 2: Landing Page for Billie
Billie has the cutest branding. For this landing page, I leaned into the illustrative style that they already have and simplified the current landing page for their $9 starter kit.

Day 3: Flash Message (Success/Error)
For the flash message challenge, I wanted to do something with more whimsy than just a “success” and “failure” message. I decided to incorporate foods into this, and made success = tacos, and failure = brussel sprouts.

Day 4: Payment Details for The Sill
I wanted to work on some app screens during this, so I designed a credit card information screen based around The Sill, a plant subscription site. I grabbed the cute plant illustrations from the Humaaans library.

Takeaways

It’s cool to see all the progress I’ve made in just a week’s time. It’ll be really great to have all of these design exercises as a portion of my portfolio when I’m applying for work, so future employers can see that I’m passionate about visual design, as well as UX. I’m excited to see where I land by the end of the summer and how my work improves.

Keep up with my progress here.

--

--