Designers Need to Get Out More

Alyssa Gonzalez
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2016

For digital designers, our basic tools involve a computer, wifi, and some form of sketchbook or tablet to jot down ideas and get them on the computer. Our desks are meticulously organized and our shiny Macs are constantly beckoning us to get to work. I do work in the morning and at night, since I go to school and train for track late-morning/early afternoon. I lock myself in my room, put on my noise-cancelling headphones and get to work. Hours will pass before I even realize it and then its 2am and I have to go to bed. I’ve started to notice just how much time I really spend sitting on my computer in my dark room, working on projects. It’s relaxing and a good work environment but I feel like I’m missing out on the world. I like to do work in different coffeeshops or locations on campus and I’ve found that I’m the most productive when I’m working outside. As I type this, I’m sitting on my porch with the flatirons to my right and I couldn’t feel more relaxed. Thoughts come easier to me while I’m brainstorming. My pen moves more freely as I sketch. With the winter approaching, I suggest you make an effort to get outside for a little bit. Walk around or just go lay in the grass. Clear your mind and get in some fresh air and vitamin d, then let your creativity flourish.

--

--