Designing for the Responsive Web

Kelly Phillips
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readDec 13, 2018

My final assignment for UX is to design for responsive webpages. Other than learning about the basics and history, we have a project to redesign a large e-comm brand’s mobile site and create a clickable prototype to demonstrate our enhancements.

Anthropologie Homepage

I’ve been obsessed with Anthropologie for as far back as I can remember, so I immediately knew I wanted to spend hours looking at their site. During week one, I spent hours creating a content audit of categories, sub-categories, and nested categories. There’s a LOT of categories on Anthropologie. From there, I thought about my personal experiences browsing their site. There’s a ton of redundancy throughout the nav. One change I’ve posed is to narrow down the categories, and get rid of repetitive links. “Dresses” is its own prime category currently, with no sub-links. I eliminated this, and just left it under Clothing.

Another change I made was separating certain sub-categories into their own prime categories. Almost all prime category currently have a sub-link to Kids & Babies, and they all link to the same products. Each prime category also links to “Inspiration” pages, and allows users to shop by brands. I created “Get Inspired”, “Kids & Babies” and “Shop Our Brands” as prime categories to make it easier on users.

Anthropologie Prime Content Audit — Existing
Anthropologie Prime Content Audit — Changes
Final content hierarchy.

Besides redesigning the content deployment for Anthropologie, I’m focusing on redesigns for Mobile first, and then am moving onto Tablet. As part of my final design, I added in a chatbot and a way to schedule delivery dates and times for large pieces.

Sketch screens of my process.

Finishing up this project was difficult, and I’d like to put a form of it into my portfolio. But considering the actual deliverables weren’t extensive enough to warrant that, I’m thinking of adding in a UI/re-branding portion of this project to make it a little more meaty. I think I learned a lot about responsive design this year, and I’m really excited to see what I can do with this over break.

Try my clickable prototype here:

https://invis.io/6SPJ1U3FWH5

--

--