Disconnect and dreams

Rachael McAllister
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readJul 3, 2019

We have all heard it, someone telling us that’s a nice dream but to do something else. Or follow your dreams but not really and just go get a job and pay your bills instead. Have you ever been told that and you just think how insane is that?! That’s where disconnect and dreams comes from for me.

I have been thinking a lot about career moves and changes and they way people approach you when they need something from you. How when I was first starting out as a photographer no one took me seriously and then as time wend on and my clients grew to the point where people where suddenly asking me for concert tickets or if I would introduce them… and yet these were the same people that laughed and told me to get a job.

I think of this moment often for two reasons. One, never, ever, give up on what sets you free and what you actually want to be doing. I wanted to shoot concerts for a living and I did. I did 700 shows at Red Rocks and every festival there is, and it was amazing, and I might not have done it if I had listened to those people. So advice 1, don’t give up on your dreams just because other people did. Advice 2, take it with a grain of salt. Some people just don’t know how to communicate worry and fear in a secure way. Those same people wanted me to have a good life and just didn’t show it in the right way.

So advice number 3. Remember that you only have one shot at life and don’t waste it doing what other people want, caring about what other people think and know that you can always change your mind.

Go kickass.

--

--

Rachael McAllister
RE: Write

a wild soul married to business and law and forever learning how to move thru this world with a shutter and a pen