Rachael McAllister
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2018

--

Enchanted Objects

“If I say the word robot, what do you picture”

In Rose Enchanted Objects there are many rabbit holes that I found myself going down and looking at my living space and much of my life differently. Was this little screen now known to me as a terminal my worst and best friend? Was is actually bringing me any closer to people or farther apart? Was I learning anything or just a slave to whatever I was scrolling thru. Rose pokes so many questions that you start realizing you need answers to questions that don’t even exist yet. “The devices are passive, without personality”

The playfulness of building something with you friend seems nostalgic at best now, the idea that you would spend hours on a puzzle seems pointless if you could do it online and faster yet at 27 in the last generation i would argue that saw this world light up before my own eyes I still remember the lights coming on when I had to run home. Endless bike rides and skateboarding around the block, skinned knees and not new iPhone skins and you know what? I actually really miss it. Being able to just call someone or having to see them. There is no quick cancellation via text back then or just not showing up at all. There was more to talk about and explore.

I have a hard rule I don’t have anyone I date follow me on social media due to the lack of conversation and overall jealously that this little grid of illusions have created. While I will always love being able to write and post and share some parts of myself with the world I am always looking up and seeing how many people are looking down and wondering what all we have actually done and what we all really want is nowhere to be found on that screen.

--

--

Rachael McAllister
RE: Write

a wild soul married to business and law and forever learning how to move thru this world with a shutter and a pen