Enlivening Public Spaces Through Interactive Art

Reflecting on the Jen Lewin Studio Tour

Catie Czajkowski
RE: Write
2 min readFeb 1, 2015

--

With each step, an array of color appeared beneath me. I darted fast, then slow, experimenting with the glorious world I had jumped into. Looking over my shoulder, I saw my trail of light mixed into a sea of glowing blue. I paused for a moment to watch as my peers danced and leaped their way across the pool. Their faced glowed from the changing light beneath them and wide smiles spread across their faces. Music sang throughout the room as someone spun beneath the laser harp, stretching their hands out in front of them to quickly pierce the beams. Others stood still, moving their hands quickly like a conductor to add to the song. Together, we let ourselves be lost in an extraordinary world created through the combination of art and technology.

What I am describing is just a small portion of what we all got to experience yesterday when we visited the Jen Lewin Studio. Jen Lewin creates interactive art pieces that are taken all over the world for others to enjoy. Her pieces attract hundreds of thousands of people, who together get to experience its beauty.

With a background in Urban Planning, I am inspired by the possibility of art inspirations such as these to enliven public spaces in cities. While many communities are currently embracing public art, I think Jen Lewin has found a particularly powerful form of art to truly enliven the public realm. I believe interactive pieces can help to revitalize communities by bringing people to otherwise abandon spaces and transform them into prized placed within the community. Furthermore, interactive art allows residents to not only view, but also engage with the art.

I am inspired to look at our community in new ways after visiting the Jen Lewin Studio and interacting with her art. I hope to one day combine my passion for the urban environment with art and technology to create art pieces for the world to enjoy!

--

--