Execise

Minsuk MIKI2038
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2020

ABOUT PROJECT

The purpose of this project is to practice the design thinking process and develop critical design decision making. I chose Google to push myself to challenge the irreplaceable representation of the most well-known company and recreate its icons with the new design concept. Also, I attempted to unify Google service icons into one new graphic motif.

CHALLENGE

The main challenge was to redesign a product that is widely used and perceived. It was not easy to start changing something that seems perfectly fine as the way it is. However, through step by step design thinking process, I was able to come up with few new concept ideas.

PROCESS

As a first step, I started writing down all keywords that come up in my mind as I think about Google. Out of all the keywords I was able to trim down to a few that incorporate a sense of color and a solid object.

CONCEPT

With these selected keywords, I was able to come up with a new concept idea, NEON SIGN
Neon signs are lighted electric signs that are used in advertising and commercial signage. Neon signs in Las Vegas, amusement parks, and other entertaining places well-represent the selected keywords. I also could take advantage of the characteristic of tube bending of neon that beautifully combines luminous line in various forms for attraction. Because neon signs are effective in dark, I initiated the project based on an assumption that the chrome is in a dark theme.

DESIGN

Neon signs are lighted electric signs that are used in advertising and commercial signage. Neon signs in Las Vegas, amusement parks, and other entertaining places well-represent the selected keywords. I also could take advantage of the characteristic of tube bending of neon that beautifully combines luminous line in various forms for attraction. Because neon signs are effective in dark, I initiated the project based on an assumption that the chrome is in a dark theme.

RESULT

I used neon as the concept of this redesign project. As a result, I ended up using a dark background to highlight the color, arrangement, and shape of the new icons. I also adjusted icon colors for default white screen usage.

--

--