Freya Travel App: The Product

Vanessa Frye
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readApr 29, 2020

In my previous post, I went over the process for my Craigslist inspired app called Freya. This post will look at the final steps and the prototype I created.

The Audience

In my last post, I talked about how Freya Stark was an inspiration for many aspects of the app. As I learned more about her, I knew I wanted to make this app female-focused to reflect the trips she would take all over the world, meeting new people along the way. I also wanted to do this because, for many women, the idea of traveling to a new city or country alone can be intimidating.

Tone Words & Archetype

For our branding projects, we have been asked to choose both tone words and an archetype. For Freya, I thought about the audience and went with whimsical, confident, feminine, and minimal. I think these words embody how the Freya user should feel while traveling with help from the app. For the archetype, I chose The Magician who “helps people transform their world, inspire change, and expand consciousness.”

The Prototype

For the Freya app, I created the wireframes and prototype using Figma. While this isn’t a fully finished app, I think it gives a good overview and general idea of the concept. I plan to finish out more screens once the semester is wrapped up and get a more complete version in my portfolio. Freya features sprinkles of nomorphism throughout the app, but not so much that it is overwhelming or loses the desired effect. Other design elements are drawn mostly from Material.

Explore the clickable Freya prototype

--

--