Haiku

Rachael McAllister
RE: Write
Published in
1 min readApr 10, 2019

There is an essence in Maui I feel that cannot be found anywhere else. An easy pace of life directed by the sun, early mornings and nights, surf and sun and sushi and an acceptance of a simple life. One where tech and ads and social media and “connecting” can all be found in real time. It’s in these moments when I am back home and don’t touch my phone how still I am and peaceful that I realize how much of this is made up? How are we actually all showing up?

When I think about dating, love, kids, and the world I think about the oceans first and the desert and sharing those with people. Not who can get a million “followers” and how those “followers” define who you are. How many of them do you think would show up if you broke your leg? *spoiler alert, none of mine did but random strangers showed me love. People who genuinely just want to connect.

This week has reminded me to slow down dramatically. Show up the best I can and create how I want to be known, be impacted by only what matters in the heart and leave the rest at the door.
Lessons in haiku healing.

--

--

Rachael McAllister
RE: Write

a wild soul married to business and law and forever learning how to move thru this world with a shutter and a pen