Untitled (Green Silver), Jackson Pollock

Help! My creativity has hit a wall

Erin Rhodes
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2015

--

Last summer, when I had already found out I was going to be attending BDW; I visited for an open house. The students were presenting their final ideas to a client during a design sprint. At the time I had no idea what a design sprint was and the idea sort of intimidated me. Now after participating in them since the beginning of the semester in January, they are one of my favorite parts of BDW. We get a brief on Thursday morning and then have until Friday afternoon to hash out ideas, narrow them down, finalize them and then present them to the client. Design sprints allow us to think on our feet and act quickly. The fast pace allows for ideas to flow freely and doesn’t allow for too much time to be spent dwelling on things. Having the ability to let ideas flow freely needs to be important in all kinds of projects, whether they are fast paced or not. What do we do when the ideas feel like they’ve stopped and we’ve hit a creative wall? I am constantly amazed when a teacher or a fellow student points something out that I completely missed. How do we get our selves out of a rut and see things from a new angle? For me, staying creative in my free time helps me be more creative in my work. Here is my list of what I do to help when I feel that I’ve hit a wall. Sometimes all it takes is putting myself in a new enviornment and focusing my attention elsewhere.

1.Walk away and take a break

2.Carry pen and paper

3.Carry a camera

4.Browse through old notebooks or journals

5.Read poetry or a book

6.Drawing

7.Get away from the your environment and do something fun

8.Talk with friends to bounce ideas off of

9.Browse through other creators that inspire you

10.Take a trip to a museum

What are some of your favorite activities to help the get the creative juices flowing?

--

--