I Downloaded My Facebook Data — Here’s What I Learned

Erin Stenzel
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readApr 23, 2018

This past week, I decided to download my Facebook data. After the Cambridge Analytica scandal, I thought it would be interesting to see what type of data Facebook has on me and how advertisers are targeting me. After spending several hours digging through my data, here are three things I learned.

1. It is extremely easy to download your Facebook data.

According to my data, I joined Facebook 12 years ago, on Friday, May 26, 2006 at 4:36pm. As an average Facebook user, it only took 10 minutes to download the past 12 years of my life. Here’s how to do it:

  • Click the triangle at the top right of your Facebook page and select Settings
  • Within the General Account Settings click, Download a copy of your Facebook data.
  • Select Download Archive

Facebook will notify you once your archive is ready and you will be able to download your zip file. The amount of time it takes depends on the amount of data you have.

My Facebook Data

2. Advertisers want me.

I discovered that nearly 300 advertisers have uploaded a contact list with my information. While it’s nice to be wanted, 300 advertisers seem a bit excessive, especially with their lack of relevance as well as the fact that I am a grad student that eats ramen noodles on a regular basis to save money. Here are a few of my favorites:

  • Returning The Favor (I thought this was something sexual…)
  • Oklahomans For Energy Options (I have never been to Oklahoma…)
  • AARP (They target Americans 50 and older…I’m 29)
  • California Republican Party (I have never lived in California and I’m a registered Democrat…)
  • Kacey Musgraves (No clue who this girl is — but this is one of her videos)
Some of my Facebook

3. Serotonin is a hobby.

In an effort to understand why certain advertisers were targeting me, I logged onto Facebook to view my ad preferences. From here, I discovered a list of bizarre “interests” that influenced the Facebook advertisements I was receiving, including:

  • Nail Fasteners
  • Goblins
  • Silk
  • Marriage in Islam
  • Toes
  • China
  • Hiccups

However, the most disturbing and puzzling was “Serotonin,” which is listed under “Hobbies and Activities.” Studies have shown that there is a link between serotonin and depression. So, is Facebook saying that depression is a hobby? I can tell you right now, that I do not enjoy having to take medicine each day for my low serotonin levels. And I do not think it is appropriate for Facebook to profit from depression or mental illness, especially when people are using Facebook to live-stream their own suicides.

While Facebook does give users the option to manage their ad preferences, users should not have to waste their time telling Facebook that they do not want to receive ads about goblins. (Seriously Facebook, what the hell did I click on that made you think I wanted to receive ads about goblins??)

My “Interests”

At the end of the day, I am glad I downloaded my Facebook data and have a better understanding of how my personal information is being utilized. I highly recommend everyone to do so and take a more proactive approach in managing your Facebook ad preferences and privacy settings.

--

--

Erin Stenzel
RE: Write

Modern Feminist Designing for Social Innovation