Is Virtual Reality the Ultimate Empathy Machine?

Rebekah Sosa
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2017

--

I have a healthy skepticism about the pervasiveness of technology in our lives. There are plently of articles out there about how technology is making people feel more isolated and disconnected from other humans. This is a scary reality that most people can relate to on some level. As a future UX Designer I am very concerned and also intrigued about my role in this ever-changing landscape. Technology, like anything else, can be leveraged for good or bad — everything hinges on what you intend to do with it.

Virtual Reality

Chris Milk, one of the founders of Within, is testing the boundaries of virtual reality and social impact. He created a VR experience through the eyes of a 12-year old girl, Sidra, living in a refugee camp in Jordan. He brought this experience to decision-makers at the United Nations and beyond. The viewer is able to sit with Sidra in her home, attend class and walk through her daily experience.

It’s not a video game peripheral. It connects humans to other humans in a profound way that I’ve never seen before in any other form of media. And it can change people’s perception of each other. And that’s how I think virtual reality has the potential to actually change the world. -Chris Milk

Chris Milk’s work resonates with me because I’ve spent most of my career working in the international development space. Having spent many hours walking with women for water in Kenya, I am intrigued by the idea of bringing this experience to classrooms in the US. How might we be able to bring the world to a classroom or community center where people may not have the resources to physically travel abroad? Can VR truly help us become more empathetic?

Find a Headset
While I don’t see VR as a silver bullet to tackle complex global challenges, I do think it’s a powerful tool. Last night I watched my classmates put on a VR headset and travel to their home town. I could visibly see the smiles on their faces and the sense of awe they were experiencing as they stood in front of their childhood home. I traveled to Monument Valley and felt the calm of being in the desert. While I was standing in our studio space in Boulder, I tryly felt like I was home.

Image: http://planetden.com/places/monument-valley-usa

VR is something that is difficult to explain and magical to experience. Google has make it very accessible with their $15 cardboard viewer, but don’t take my word for it, try it out for yourself.

--

--

Rebekah Sosa
RE: Write

I am currently enrolled in CU Boulder’s MA in Strategic Communication Design. My focus is UX design, brand strategy and front-end development.