IXDMA Rewind

Alyssa Gonzalez
RE: Write
Published in
5 min readDec 9, 2016

With my first semester of graduate school in the books, I can finally take a second to look back at how crazy the past months pursuing my master’s degree in Interaction Design has been. A word to describe the experience could be fast. Everything from the second I applied to the second I sent my portfolio link in to my professor has been a whirlwind. I’ve grown a lot as a designer and can say confidently that being in a masters program is a lot different than being an undergrad. I’ve had to change my approach on how I do a lot of things, but in turn it has helped me become more efficient and a better designer. There has been so much growth throughout the entire program that its hard to just focus on what I’ve learned. I feel as a whole, the inaugural class of IXDMA is shaping into a group of talented designers, researchers and UX/UI wizards faster than we expected. We all started at with different levels of experience and backgrounds, but now are all heading in the same path as equals.

I’ve always known I loved design from the first time I started playing around on photoshop. I have always told myself I’m a graphic designer and settled with that. Benign this program showed me now to settle and to explore the worlds of design. Just because I have an extensive knowledge in Photoshop and Illustrator doesn’t mean I have to stick with it. I can venture into any field of design I want. Even though I don’t know what exact type of designer I want to be yet, I know more clearly of the path where I’m headed. My eyes have been opened to things I never thought I would be interested in: VR/AR, development, playing with Arduinos and research. My brain has never been more exhausted but I wouldn’t want it any other way.

So thanks IXDMA for teaching me some valuable lessons. Those lessons are:

  1. Working with others is how you become successful.

I have always considered myself a team player but Im not gonna lie, I like to be in charge and I generally think my ideas are better than everyone else. I know they’re not, but my competitive nature just makes me think that way. So when it comes to working with partners and in teams I always struggle. If things don’t go my way I can put up a wall or get defensive. Since working in this program I am proud to say that this is no longer me. I have learned to listen to others and take critique. Other people have really great ideas too. Working with a group under pressure is an awesome way to really grow as a designer. Everyone gets mad and frustrated and defensive. But by the end of the project, you have a great result and you realize you got through disputes and little bumps.

2. Be hard on yourself, but don’t trash all your ideas.

When I said earlier I think all my ideas are great, I actually mean I think everything I do sucks. Im my toughest critic and it’s hard for me to get work done because I am constantly comparing myself to other and wishing I was better. ITs good in a way, to help me become a better designer and push myself, but its a hug hindrance when I need to get work done. Having the tight time restraints and weekly projects due in this program helped me get over trashing every idea I came up with. I learned to come up with one good idea, you need to have a bunch of shitty ones first

3. You can rush good work. But to make great shit you need to put in effort.

Ah, no longer am I an undergrad who can not pay attention in class and do work the night before and still get good grades. Graduate school is the real deal and I have learned that you can’t bullshit it here. I can easily make something quick and submit it, but its not work Im proud of. Ive adjusted my design process a lot during this program. I put more effort into my brainstorming and sketches and I design with my portfolio in mind. I want to make work I’m proud to show off and claim as mine. Not undergrad pieces I can bang out in 10 minutes. That doesn’t prove I’m a master of design.

4. Be openminded and work on projects you hate.

I could talk about and design for the things I’m most passionate all day long. Give me a project on cats, candy or track and field and I’m all game. But it’s almost not fun to just design things I like all day. I want to be pushed and out of my comfort zone. Working on projects Im not into has put me as such an advantage because I really can go into it with no bias and design great work. I learn a lot in the process too, despite dreading it the whole time. I have learned to start designing with an open mind and I try to clear all my prior thoughts and enjoyments before I get into a project so I can have a fresh pair of eye looking at it.

5. Anything is a possibility.

I had a comfy grad assistantship set up at another university with a stipend and free tuition for a 2-year graphic design masters program. I turned down that offer to move to Boulder, Colorado and apply to a brand new masters program in interaction design, two days before the deadline. I put myself in major debt and under a shit ton of stress for this degree and I wouldn’t have it any other way. What I’m learning in IXDMA has changed my life and my future and I am so thankful for that. Everyday in class I’m not wondeirng what it would be like if I went with the other program. I am so involved and interested and curious about everything I am learning and all the possibilities of the future that I have never had second-thoughts. So go out there and take chances, make mistakes, make risky decisions.

Be fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire.

--

--