Lessons in Lingerie Design

Gia Almuaili
RE: Write
Published in
4 min readDec 10, 2019

The Delicate Icon of Empowerment

By Artist David Downtown

The Backstory

I remember way back when I was a teen, I loathed those basic and flashy neon teen lingerie sets and all I dreamed of was a set (or two…maybe even three) from Victoria’s Secret; you know the ones with the lace trim and the single diamanté gem at the centre, YES! Those, I just thought they were the prettiest and most elegant. However, I was constantly reminded that I was too young for Victoria’s Secret, LaSenza or La Vie En Rose, so I took my hopes and dreams and let them flow elsewhere, into my sketch books. I sketched all the lingerie I wanted and hoped to wear, some I remember were the definition of extravagance and others were more floral and delicate. I let my imagination flow, and believe it or not I haven’t stopped since. It’s still these little details that draw me in today. I love the intricacy of lingerie, whether it’s an elaborate embroidery or the logo stamped hardware that many luxury brands make use of. Small details that would go almost unnoticed on a dress have so much more impact on something the size of a bra. Beautiful, luxury laces that would be far outside of my budget for regular clothing become attainable when it’s a case of just the small amount needed for lingerie (and I’m always a sucker for a decadent lace).

I also love the way humble lingerie sets can take so many different forms. There’s only so much you can change about a bra before it ceases to function, and yet I regularly come across new silhouettes or details that I’ve never seen before in lingerie. I am forever being impressed at just how creative designers, especially the independent ones, can be; in fact, I would say the practical limitations and restrictions imposed upon them forces them to be creative in a way that doesn’t apply to general clothing design.

Speaking of the design process, lingerie is just so much more complex and fascinating to me than a skirt could ever be. Whether it’s the way lingerie materials and silhouettes have changed and changed again over the decades or the way a particular placement of seams affect a cup’s shape, the more I research about lingerie and learn about new brands, the more I realize there is to learn. And I love that! things get quite boring when there’s nothing left to discover.

By Artist David Downtown

Why Lingerie Though?

Now I’ve explained why I love to buy and research about lingerie, but not why I enjoy wearing it. So why is that? Partly, because of it’s the functionality. But! lingerie is so much more than a functional garment. Camille surveyed 1,000 people and 94% said that the right lingerie made them feel happier, sexier or more confident. What’s ‘right’ will vary from person to person, but there’s a perfect style of lingerie out there for everyone.

I’d also like to mention, that we live in a world where people make assumptions about women strictly by the clothes they wear or the purses they carry or how much or how little makeup they have on. Likewise, lingerie is solely perceived by the majority as a sexual or intimidating thing — something that is only meant to be seen by your partner in the bedroom; something that is to be worn for someone else; but all these notions are very wrong…lingerie should be something that women buy and wear for THEMSELVES; something that makes them look and feel as good as they deserve. What all women need to realize is that the point of sexy lingerie is not necessarily for your partner to see you in, but just for the fact of yourself knowing that you have it on. Modern lingerie should not have the two extreme opposite functions of either being for the bedroom or as a piece of garment for women to protect their private parts. Lingerie should be a fashion icon that symbolize women empowerment; that signifies femininity, sexiness, and to inspire women all over the globe. Lingerie can be used as a refuge for who you are on the inside, as it allows you to express yourself no matter what brand or style of clothing you are wearing on top. lingerie lets us express ourselves in private when we don’t want to project it to someone else.

Everyone deserves to have underthings that make them feel like a glamorous Goddess! And whether you feel your best in a bejeweled quarter-cup or a cotton t-shirt bra, no one needs to know but you. However, If yours isn’t making you feel happy every time you put it on, then I’d say it’s time for a change. Get re-fitted, buy something in your favorite color, or experiment with a completely new style.

By Artist Nina Kosmyleva

The Lessons

In these brief lessons, I will teach you what I learned from all the books, magazines, and research I have done in the past and recently. Stay tuned if you want to learn more…

--

--

Gia Almuaili
RE: Write

Strategic Communication | Designer | Design Thinker | Researcher | www.ecologiestudios.com