Mindfulness, or Something Like It

Caro Beresford-Wood
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2020

I’ll admit that I constantly try to multitask. I try to convince myself that I can do so many things at once, and I continuously fail at it.

I’d describe myself as being a bit “scatterbrained”. I have several trains of thought running at once a lot of the time, and usually, this works out alright for me. But when my trains of thought start racing a bit too fast, or when my mental health takes a downward turn, it’s hard for me to focus on anything at all.

I’ve been working on the discipline of slowing down, paying more attention, and being able to stop (or slow) negative thoughts down. So today, I want to list some of my favorite ways to help my brain slow down and be present. Some of these are physical activities, and some of them are in-the-moment activities that can help any time.

Labyrinths

Photo by Ashley Batz on Unsplash

Over the past several years, I’ve come to love labyrinths. A labyrinth is not a maze, but a slow path from the outside to the center, and back out again. Some see it as an analogy for our journey to the center of ourselves and back out into the world, and others may see it as an analogy for living out our purpose: moving closer to our best selves and to thriving, and then the natural chaos of life pulling us in different directions away from our purpose. I love walking labyrinths (my favorite is the Chartres Labyrinth) because it is a practice I need to set aside time for, and it gives me time and space to process my thoughts and emotions without feeling like I need immediate answers.

I actually have a small metal labyrinth that can be traced with a pen or with a finger, and I use this small version when I need to take time to recenter but can’t go out and find a real labyrinth.

The 54321 Grounding Technique

Photo by Solstice Hannan on Unsplash

When I feel like I’m getting anxious, this technique is so helpful. It’s meant to redirect one’s focus from their train of thought to the present moment by engaging all five senses. In the moment, I search for 5 things I can see around me, 4 things I can touch, 3 things I can hear, 2 things I can smell, and 1 thing I can taste. I keep repeating this pattern until the anxious moment passes, and it helps so much.

Running

I have to admit that I might hate it in the moment sometimes, but running clears my head. When I go for a run, I feel like I have more mental clarity to unpack my thoughts throughout the rest of my day.

My Favorite Playlist(s)

Photo by Malte Wingen on Unsplash

Sometimes, shameless karaoke is exactly what I need to get through an intense or stressful thought spiral. Maybe I belt out “What’s Up” by the 4 Non Blondes, or I dance like nobody’s watching to “Come On Eileen” by Dexys Midnight Runners. Whatever the song is, sometimes it’s exactly what I need to get myself out of my own head and back into the present moment.

I know that my list isn’t exhaustive, but I wanted to list my favorite ways to stay present and mindful especially in the anxiety-inducing times we are living in.

As we work our way through this quarantine, I hope we all stay kind and keep dancin’.

--

--

Caro Beresford-Wood
RE: Write

she/her, queer, seminarian, aspiring handyperson, type 1 diabetic, big fan of animation.