My Favorite Free Design Resources of 2019

Sites that have been oh, so clutch this past year

Kelly Phillips
RE: Write
3 min readJul 23, 2019

--

UI Patterns: Mobbin

I love Mobbin for when I have UI questions, like what standards are for certain patterns. You can search by specific apps, like Headspace, or narrow down by pattern or category and recieve dozens of examples from different apps.

Gradients: uiGradients

When I need gradient inspo, I go here. Not only is there a library of pre-mixed colors, you can download them as jpegs, or grab the CSS.

Illustration Library: Humaaans

The open source Humaaans library is so whimsical and fun, and honestly puts a smile on my face every time I use it. I love that it’s so customizable and can enhance any brand or screen.

SVG Shapes: Blob Maker

I could play with blob maker all day. I’ve found this to be useful for when I need a few random blobs and find all of my handmade ones looking too similar. You can use the sliders to change the blobs, and then download them as SVGs.

Vector Patterns: paaatterns

I love this site for when I need a quick, beautiful pattern. It’s compatible with Sketch, XD, Figma and Illustrator.

Sketch Library: Wireframe Prototyping System

This library has made wireframing a lot simpler on Sketch. The download comes with both mobile and web symbols, and various different styles.

Animations: LottieFiles

LottieFiles is a collection of animations designed for Lottie and Bodymovin. They have a large variety of editable animations that can be used for almost anything.

Hex Colors: BrandColors

BrandColors is a great resource for finding the exact hex color of a certain brand. It has hundreds of different brands and easily allows you to copy hex codes from individual colors.

--

--