Virtual Ideation

Learning to appreciate the process from afar

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write
2 min readApr 7, 2020

--

I have officially been in some form of government-mandated quarantine or shelter in place for 4.5 weeks, due to Covid-19. While my masters program has transitioned as well as it could to a remote program, and Zoom has become a frequent part of my life, there are some things that are not the same.

Particularly, the ideation and collaborative process. We are encouraged to diverge as much as possible, before converging once again on something more concrete. No matter how often we schedule virtual meetings, however, that diverge process has reduced in its effectiveness dramatically.

I now crave a process that I used to find stressful and unnerving. And as much as I started to resent the studio for taking up all of my physical hours, I would take over banging my head against a wall at home by myself when I get stuck on a project.

Also, strangely enough, I have actually started to miss in-class presentations over virtual ones. Yes, virtual ones are less difficult by far, but the thrill is gone.

Oh well. I guess I’ll just have to make like a Galapagos finch and evolve.

--

--

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write

I go through life imagining meaningful experiences for human beings, making them a reality through research and design.