Roadtrip App UI

Jonas Escobedo
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readJul 3, 2019

I’ve hitchhiked once — it was fun, and it felt like a bond had been formed with the people who picked me up. There was a generosity and a trust from them onto me, who was a total stranger. I liked this concept, and so I went ahead and tried to make an app that cultivates the act of getting in the car with a stranger, or allowing a stranger into your car. Like Uber and Lyft, but for road trips.

Sidecar is a conceptual app that I designed after I had moved to CO. I drove alone and I wished that I had a way to match up with another traveler to share the journey and the costs of gas with. The app is a social matching service designed to pair travelers who are going the same way. In this project I wanted to focus on creating a brand and UI that cultivated an enjoyable experience of road trip matching.

UI examples.

For marketing, I wanted to keep a personal and humorous tone. The ad that I mocked up features a poster with a text conversation happening between one and their typical anxiety. On other half of the poster is a tagline and a brief feature of what the app has to offer.

Poster Mockup.

This was one of the more exciting projects I was able to work on in my time at CMCI Studio and I am happy to have this piece in my portfolio. It was always a fun challenge to design a product for a problem that you want to see solved.

--

--

Jonas Escobedo
RE: Write

Visual and Product Design @CMCI Studio | Boulder, CO