Screen Fatigue

Please cancel all of my video calls

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write
1 min readApr 29, 2020

--

Illustration by Xaviera Altena

So this has become an issue for me. I crave human interaction, and can’t get any while I am in social isolation, as is the case with most of the world.

As a result, I now have multiple social video chats a week, on top of my grad school classes, all being taught remotely, and then all the work that I have to do on my laptop.

And that isn’t even counting the hours per day that I spend on my phone. Or how in the evenings, my partner and I unwind by streaming a show or movie on our TV.

It’s starting to become too much. As in, I’ve started suffering from all of these symptoms at one time or another (from the Mayo Clinic):

  • Sore, tired, burning or itching eyes
  • Watery or dry eyes
  • Blurred or double vision
  • Headache
  • Sore neck, shoulders or back
  • Increased sensitivity to light
  • Difficulty concentrating
  • Feeling that you cannot keep your eyes open

Today I gardened for a couple hours, and have never felt better. Unfortunately, besides giving myself phone-free days, and reading a book in the evening instead of watching something, I can’t avoid screens, as is the case with most of us.

--

--

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write

I go through life imagining meaningful experiences for human beings, making them a reality through research and design.