Seasons of VR

Nikki Cavalier
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2018

I decided that my big project for this semester would be a VR experience, and I’ve begun building over the past couple of weeks!

Having never created anything in VR, I started this process by doing some tutorials. The Unity site comes fully equipped with tutorials for how the program works and using its many features. I started with the Roll a Ball Game tutorial just to get a general grasp on what everything is. I have to say, I felt pretty accomplished after completing it. Then I went to YouTube for a tutorial on terrain building and using textures. After just playing around a bit, I started thinking about what kind of project I want to eventually create. And thus, Seasons was born!

I really enjoyed the act of terrain building and creating natural environments, so I decided I want to create an experience that allows the user to visit four different worlds, each encompassing the physical aspects of a season.

The experience will begin with the user in the middle of a clearing in a dense forrest. There will be four trees, each representing a season, that act as doorways to the seasonal worlds. For this I’m drawing inspiration from The Nightmare Before Christmas.

In thinking of what each season world might look like, I made mood boards exploring colors and landscapes that related to each season.

So far, I’ve done a bit of work on creating the terrain of the winter world. Below are some stills from within the environment.

I’m extremely excited to continue developing this project, and will be posting updates periodically throughout the semester.

--

--

Nikki Cavalier
RE: Write

MA student in CU Boulder’s Strategic Communication Design program | artist & interaction designer