Shelter in place activities

lighting, timers and getting outside

Dave M Laskowski II
RE: Write
3 min readMay 13, 2020

--

Routines, habits, and rituals guide us through our days. They are often unnoticed unless they are interrupted. Over the past several weeks, months, semester… time has gotten a little blurred I have introduced several elements into my days to help me get into a new routine.

Staying home during a mandated shelter in place has been an adjustment. Pre-COVID-19 my schedule during the week revolved around my class schedule and the hours facilities were open. With this taken away and class a quick zoom call away I found my once bloc style since of time gone.

Cool to Warm

Task based lighting

Light can have a powerful influence on our mood and biological functions. Having artificial lighting has allowed us to be more productive and active to an unmeasurable scale.

“it has also caused some confusion in our bodies, which have evolved for thousands of years to respond to the stimuli of sunlight in the day and darkness at night. This responsiveness to natural light is called the circadian rhythm or cycle, and describes the 24-hour biological cycle of almost all living beings” — Eduardo Souza

The new remote learning reality occurred during one of the snowiest months on the front range March. With snow comes gray days and no direct sunlight. To help cope with this and not leaving my apartment I finally set up my Philip Hue light set. Walking up to a gradually brighting bulb with a warm tone of light has been refreshing compared to the noise of an alarm. The bulbs can be set from cool tones to warm ones. The companion app has presets for tasked based lighting. Reading, concentration, and energizing are a few of my favorites.

“Hey Siri set a timer for 30 min’s”

Screen shot of an iPhone with Siri setting a 30 min timer
Hey Siri

Blocs of time

To help keep on top of time management I started blocking out my time to work on tasks. This perviously was easier to do when I had to travel from place to place. Using times has help in motivation and accountability.

“On your left”

The back part of a bike leaning against a wall inside with gold streamers hanging down
I haven't taking any pics of my bike rides (also this isn't even my bike but I did take the pic)

Fresh air and exercise

With my bike to class commute gone, accesses to the gym gone, and “socially distancing”, getting fresh air and exercising has presented an opportunity to get creative. Setting a bloc of time for this has been helpful. Exploring parts of Boulder I don't know has also made getting out more interesting. Boulder is already a bike friendly city but with everyone stying home the roads are almost dead making biking around on the streets a dream.

--

--

Dave M Laskowski II
RE: Write

Grad Student, Experience Design | CMCI Studio, CU Boulder