Spring Semester Photo Dump & Reflection

Images and words from the last four months

Steven Douglas
RE: Write
3 min readMay 13, 2020

--

flat iron long exposure

Quite a bit has happened this semester, or at least it seems like it. These last few months of ambiguity and chaos have stretched time. Our semester was cut in seemingly two parts: in-person and remote classes. I do miss the in-person class a great deal, to be honest. I miss the small interactions I’d have with my classmates when coming in and out of the studio. The input I’d get from them and likewise. There’s a lot to miss about having in-person classes, but I don’t really want to dwell on that. That’s not a good time.

So what good things have happened this semester? Well, I learned a lot. Maybe more than ever, about school, myself, relationships with friends and family. I learned a lot about humans. It’s been incredibly refreshing observing the adaptability of human nature during this time. It’s a beautiful positive that has come of all this. Even without a lot of in-person interaction, an undeniable necessity of life, humans persist. We are remarkably resilient. And to do it on such a massive scale I’d say we do it relatively well.

There is so much more to be thankful during these times. One of them is that I’ve been taking more pictures again. With iPhone and DSLR. It’s one thing I will always love to do and am grateful that this time has allowed me to dig up old hobbies and discover new ones. Here are some moments for the last four months. Enjoy! All ran through Lightroom.

Minsuk, Aitana, and Caro, getting after some weather app wireframes
googlé speakers. shoutout lily
calm before the storm with maggie. gold hill
Gia getting after it when we decided to pivot in RE
mistimed this hike just a bit
hoot rats hood ratting and enjoying fresh air Dave
i began biking during quarantine. i think this is a hobby i will enjoy for a while.
hoot rat Tess getting after some unity. RIP my computer
sweeping rain in the plains
Gimli trying to figure out what snow is
spring on pearl st. there are better times ahead

--

--

Steven Douglas
RE: Write

CMCI Studio | Designer | Master of Something | Boulder, CO